Book Tour: “Backyard Guide to the Night Sky” by Andrew Fazekas

If you are even just casually thinking about stargazing this summer, this guide is a MUST HAVE. My family and I like to stargaze from time to time, and have borrowed the library’s telescope, but we are just amateurs. We (my husband and I) know just enough to seem like experts to our children – though it could now be argued that my older son knows more astronomy facts than I do. But now I have this book.

First, it is published by National Geographic, so you already know that the many many color photographs are absolutely stunning. They are clear, beautiful, and helpful! Along with the photos, the maps and charts are concise and very easy to read.

Second, the author is very accessible in his writing, to help teach the reader about everything you need to know from how to use the book when you are outside in the dark (one tip: use a red-bulb in your flashlight) to when is the best time to see an eclipse based on your location. There are facts about planets, moons, and other celestial objects as well as everything you should know about constellations (and where to find them).

This guide will be kept very close at hand and well used as my family and I explore the stars together, right in our backyard.

Thank you to TLC Book Tours for the opportunity to review this book.

Links for purchase: National Geographic | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

One thought on “Book Tour: “Backyard Guide to the Night Sky” by Andrew Fazekas

Add yours

  1. I’m excited to get this one for my kids because we often drive out at night to see things and this will be so helpful! Thanks for being on the tour!

    Sara @ TLC Book Tours

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Up ↑