Book Review: “Dear Fahrenheit 451” by Annie Spence

I received this book from a book friend not long before I started reading all the other books for the award committee, and it was perfect.  Yes, it took me three months to read this (which is insane when you know how fast I normally read) but I worked this in between all the other books I’ve been reading.  This book is exactly right for that.

This adorable and funny book is written by a fellow librarian, and is a compilation of letters she has written “to” books.  They could be books she loved, books she hated, and books that she pulled for weeding at her library.  I’ve read some of the books she wrote letters to, and it was fun to see her perspective and compare it to my memory – especially when she was writing more with from her collection development standpoint than as a literature enthusiast.  And she’s got a great sense of humor!

The end section of the book is a variety of different book lists, and you should know that librarians LOVE book lists.  A few of the titles had already been discussed elsewhere in the book, but others were fresh to the discussion.  I don’t want to think about it right now, but my TBR list has grown quite a bit after reading this book.

So while I think this would also be enjoyable to read straight through, cover to cover…  I think reading in bits worked better for me.  Aside from my current reading situation, I think no matter what, I would enjoy reading a letter or two before bed or in between books instead of all at once.  You can decide for yourself of course, but I do hope you take a look at this one – especially if you love books.

*****

Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks

by Annie Spence

Flatiron Books, 2017

244 pages

Source:  Gift

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Dear Fahrenheit 451” by Annie Spence

Add yours

  1. I like the idea of this – and I guess that’s sort of how I write my blog. Some are love letters, some are up yours letters, and others are just straight up I’m writing this letter b/c my parents told me I had to to verify I’m alive type letters 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Up ↑