Book Review: “P.S. I Still Love You” by Jenny Han

I just couldn’t stay away from Lara Jean’s story any longer!  In this sequel to To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we pick up right where we left off.  Lara Jean needs to apologize to Peter, and in doing so, they decide together that they both actually do like each other.  It’s time to try this relationship thing out for real this time.  And it starts out okay, until Lara Jean’s insecurities start showing, and Peter starts spending time with his ex, and THEN John Ambrose McClaren (the last letter recipient) comes back into the picture.  What is going to happen next here?

I’ll admit a little hesitation on my part.  I really loved the first book, and the first few chapters of this one didn’t really grab me.  I was afraid of that thing that happens in trilogies where the middle book is just a filler until the third book.  But then we did move forward beyond the hot tub video scandal, and it went places I didn’t really expect.  I found myself feeling quite skeptical of Peter.  I just expected him to be not trustworthy, and that wasn’t fair.

What really shines is the family aspect of these books.  I saw it in the first book and it continues here.  The dad is still a pretty blank character – there isn’t much depth there (yet) – but the sibling relationships are top notch.  Lara Jean and each of her sisters, and even Peter with his brother.  There is a closeness that is captured beautifully.

I definitely already requested the third book from the library – so I hope to read that very soon!

*****

P.S. I Still Love You

by Jenny Han

Simon & Schuster, 2015

339 pages

Series:  To All the Boys #2

Source:  Purchased

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

