"The Memory of Running" by Ron McLarty

I can’t remember where I first heard about this book.  It was probably on someone’s blog, or even possibly in Entertainment Weekly….  or it could have come up as a recommendation on Swap.com.  I really have no idea at this point.  But I traded for this book, and it did not sit long on my nightstand; the cover was calling to me.  I had recently read another book that featured a bicycle on the cover (Lottery – my review and pictures of that cover can be found here).  The other cover conveyed freedom or glee to me, but this one, with its vivid colors conveyed peace and innocence.  I apologize for including such a small picture in this post; I found it on the author’s website – which is worth a visit as well.

Anyway, back to the book.  It tells the story of one Smithson “Smithy” Ide, a Vietnam Vet who seems to have always been down on his luck.  When we first meet him, he is in his early 40s, very overweight with a dead-end job, no friends or lovers, and a bad alcohol habit.  His parents are killed in a terrible auto accident and his runaway, schizophrenic sister has been discovered in a L.A. morgue.  The book takes us with him as he rides his bicycle from his parents home in Rhode Island to California, to claim his beloved sister’s body.

I had a bad feeling about this book as it first started.  I really didn’t want to like Smithy.  I don’t even know why.  I think that idea stayed in my head for about 4 chapters, and then all I wanted to do is protect him.  I wanted to encourage the other people in the book to give the guy a chance, not to assume anything about him.  I wanted Smithy to stand up for himself and show people that they were wrong about him.  To say this is a story about self-discovery and self-empowerment is an understatement.  The pace of this book is such that you feel that you are riding right along with Smithy…  everything flows nicely without some overbearing sense of urgency.  This was a very enjoyable read.

Edited to add:  It appears that this book has also been optioned for a movie.

*****

The Memory of Running

by Ron McLarty

Penguin Books, 2004

358 pages

One thought on “"The Memory of Running" by Ron McLarty

Add yours

  1. How nice to find this review! I loved this book. I had the same problem as you: I didn't want to like Smithy, but I did. He's such an anti-hero, the total opposite of what you want from a main character. But you can't help it.

    I loved his dedication and how he slowly becomes a hero. I didn't know there were plans for a movie. That would be great!

    Like

Leave a comment

Up ↑