"Good in Bed" by Jennifer Weiner

I had high hopes for this book for several reasons. First, I had already read “Little Earthquakes” by the same author, and really enjoyed that. Second, this seems to be a really popular book among women my age and I figured that there was probably a reason why. This is the story of a late-20s journalist who breaks up with her boyfriend…. and then finds a magazine column he wrote about her entitled “Loving a Larger Woman”. She is understandably mortified and beyond embarrassed…. and then goes on a journey of adventures, self- discovery, and heartache. Its the journey that got me. SO much happened to this girl that by the end, when everything is wrapping up together… I was confused about who was who and what happened when…. some things were obvious but others… well, it was alot to take in and accept. So now I wonder why its so popular and I didn’t love it? Not that I have to love everything popular, I’m far beyond that way of thinking… but I was genuinely curious. I’m really not sure. I could say that I never had a big, bad breakup in my 20s, or that I never really had a “single girl” life…. but that’s not it. I have read books about people in Africa, and I can find a way to relate even though I’ve never been. But there was just something I can’t put my finger on that prevented me from really connecting, or even really liking the main character. Hmm… its a mystery.

Leave a comment

Up ↑